DBTG who… starts a blog

Well, actually I have just been that guy. Sorry. If you are in any way curious about what this blog is doing here, then read on…

For a good portion of my adult life, I have tried to maintain a positive outlook on life. I tended to give people the benefit of the doubt and be a reasonable person.  However, events of the past year or so have conspired to weaken my resolve and trying to be pleasant (which I was never much good at anyway) has become increasingly difficult.  I’m not going to be nasty, but actively trying to be nice didn’t seem to work out, so here we are.

This blog will be about things in life that I find frustrating, specifically things that people do that I don’t understand and can’t really get behind, though which are ultimately fairly harmless.  I often find myself disagreeing with the world’s consensus view, which is difficult and confusing for me, and this is me letting off steam about it.  Bear in mind that, given this description, you are likely to disagree with me and possibly even think that this is aimed at you.  It is not.  You are welcome to your opinion as I am welcome to mine, and I am not trying to change your mind (though if I do so, I won’t complain either!).  Similarly, where I cite specific examples, it is extremely rare that it is a single isolated situation, so I am probably not referring to you in particular, and if I am, it doesn’t mean I don’t like you, just that we don’t agree on absolutely everything (which you probably already knew).  Maybe this will make you laugh, cry, yell, or just whine about it on your own blog.  If you do any of this, at least I have provoked some sort of reaction and if not, oh well…

Leave a Reply

